2014 World Food Prize Winner Announced!

The World Food Prize was created in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug.  This award honors those who make great achievements in combating world hunger.  The Prize focuses not only on the world food supply but also on nutritious and sustainably produced food from around the world.  Each year we get closer to seeing what the future has in store for global food security.

The Prize is sponsored by a businessman from right here in Des Moines, Iowa.  Currently, Mr. John Ruan III is the chairman of The World Food Prize and works diligently to keep Dr. Borlaug’s dream alive. Mr. Ruan became the sponsor in 1990 when the original sponsor withdrew support.

On June 18th US Secretary of State John Kerry announced the 2014 World Food Prize recipient, Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram. Dr. Rajaram was born in India and is a citizen of Mexico.  He has a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, a Master’s degree in genetics and plant breeding, and holds a Ph.D. in plant breeding.  With his extensive education he has done major research in the area of wheat breeding.  His research has helped the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center’s (CIMMYT) wheat breeding program develop 480 new wheat varieties.  Dr. Rajaram’s crossing of winter and spring wheat varieties, which were distinct gene pools that had been isolated from one another for hundreds of years, led to his development of plants that have higher yields and dependability under a wide range of environments around the world.  These varieties are available in 51 countries on six continents.  With new varieties, there has been a production increase of 200 million tons of wheat, helping to eliminate world hunger and provide more nutritious food.